Tuesday, August 26, 2008

ProgCast - Episode 12

This is the first in a series of episodes recorded throughout August that have yet to be released. Our return to podcasting was plagued with technical nightmares. I'm sorry about any sound quality issues that may exist in the remaining episodes, but it's the best we can do with what we have. Hopefully when we return to podcasting again we will find a way to earn some money from our website that will help us improve our equipment and result in better sound.

Download MP3

Sorry about the delay, we're back!

Theo Travis and Robert Fripp have joined forces and released an album entitled "Thread"

Release date for Genesis 1970-1975 box set

Return to Forever wins an award and tour review.

New Rush DVD info.

Dream Theater to appear in Rock Band video game.

New Bass Communion album "Molotov and Haze".

Review of Zappa's Roxy and Elsewhere.

Sunday, August 24, 2008

Gabriel-esque Delays

I must apologies for the long silence. Mr. Coop and I have gone to New York and back and had an amazing time seeing King Crimson live. Partially due to this and partially due to other silly reasons I have not been able to mix and publish the ProgCast for the past few weeks.

Fear not though, we have at least another 2-4 episodes in the can and ready to go. They will be released over the next few weeks. We have a great exploration into the early works of Magma as Coop digs into some Kobaian mythology. We also have a really great episode where we did not plan a thing prior to starting the recording. It was a great hour long talk about various Prog related subjects. Finally, our season finale is our review of the King Crimson concert recorded on the bus ride back from New York.

Keep your iTunes locked on our ProgCast feed because you never know when we might start releasing new episodes again. I'm trying to find a way to keep this blog active throughout the winter months. If you have any ideas of ways I can keep this going while Mr. Coop is away at school don't hesitate to send me an email.

Expect the next episode of the ProgCast in the early part of this upcoming week.

And as always,

Saturday, July 26, 2008

VIDEO: Mahavishnu Orchestra - 1972 Archive Syracuse library footage

What a find! An entire hour long Mahavishnu Orchestra concert from 1972. Black and white but that doesn't take away from the incredible musicianship. Jazz Fusion at its finest.

Thursday, July 24, 2008

VIDEO: Dream Theater - Chaos in Motion DVD Trailer

Techinal Nightmares Continue

We recorded two excellent episodes this passed weekend but due to another computer issue these recordings are unusable. We are terribly sorry but there will not be any more new episodes this week.

Wednesday, July 23, 2008

Sunday, July 20, 2008

ProgCast - Episode 10

Despite a vast number of technical problems Episode 10 is finally here! On this week's show we talk about new box sets from Steve Hackett and Henry Cow. We also look into the new Dream Theater DVD and Peter Gabriel's latest work. We review Happy the Man's first album and debate how far away from Prog a Prog fan can go.

Download MP3

Extended Show Notes:

Dream Theater DVD Details

Dream Theater Website with Video Preview of DVD

Steve Hackett Live Archive - Camino Records Online Store

Youtube Video of New Peter Gabriel Song - Down To Earth

Henry Cow Box Set

Happy The Man on Prog Archives

Knee Bitten Nymphs by Happy The Man on Youtube

Thomas' Yes Sketch (Thanks Tom!)

Monday, July 14, 2008

Video: Van Der Graaf Full Concert

This is amazing. Enjoy.

This week's ProgCasts will be out a day late

I would like to thank everyone who sent us emails about our shows last week. We've been wanting to start this thing up again for quite some time now. We've finally been able to work out a schedule that will allow us to produce new episodes of the ProgCast until at least the middle of August. We will be recording two episodes every Sunday night and we will release them on Tuesday and Thursday each week.

I just wanted to give everyone the heads up that Mr. Coop was feeling a bit under the weather last night so we will be pushing back the publication days this week. Expect to see new episodes Wednesday and Friday this week only. Next week we should be back to our regular schedule.

We're always looking for discussion topics so if you have anything you'd like to hear us debate on the show send us an email or reply here in the blog. If you have an opinion that strongly differs to the ones we have, make yourself heard! Send us an email with what you think!

Until Wednesday,
Keep the Prog Alive.

Tuesday, July 08, 2008

ProgCast - Episode 8

We're back! After a long hiatus we are back with brand new episodes. For the remainder of the summer we will post new episodes every Tuesday and Thursday.

On today's episode we take a look back at all the important items we missed over the past year and a half. We talk about Fear of a Blank Planet, King Crimson, Yes, Van Der Graaf Generator and much more!

Download the MP3 here.

Don't forget to subscribe to us in iTunes and have each new episode delivered to you automatically.